TBD Working Group member resigns; changes to subcommittees also

Karen Vanderhoof-Forschner has resigned her position as a member of the federal Tick-Borne Disease Working Group. The Department of Health and Human Services announced that news, as well as several subcommittee changes on its website. Here’s what was posted:

Working Group Member Resigns (posted March 8, 2018)

A member of the Tick-Borne Disease Working Group, Karen Vanderhoof-Forschner, resigned on March 6, 2018. Ms. Vanderhoof-Forschner also served as one of two co-chairs on the Access to Care Services and Support to Patients Subcommittee. Three non-federal subcommittee members were nominated by the other members to take on this leadership role. Early next week, subcommittee members will vote on their preference to replace Ms. Vanderhoof-Forschner. The results of the vote will be considered along with other information by the Chair and the Vice-Chair of the Working Group. A replacement for Ms. Vanderhoof-Forschner to serve on the Working Group will be appointed by Secretary Azar.

Update on Subcommittee Membership (posted March 2, 2018)

The Department of Health and Human Services announces changes to the composition of three of the six subcommittees of the Tick-Borne Disease Working Group (Working Group). The changes were made in response to three members who did not accept the invitations they received to be a part of a subcommittee. New members were selected from the list of existing nominees by the Co-Chairs of the affected subcommittees. The Chair and Vice-Chair of the Working Group provided input and approved the final changes.

  • Robert Bransfield, MD, a private practice physician and Associate Clinical Professor in the Department of Psychiatry at Rutgers-RWJ Medical School, has replaced Susan Green, JD, on the Access to Care and Support to Patients subcommittee. After careful consideration, Ms. Green withdrew her name.
  • David Roth, JD, has accepted a Co-Chair position on the Testing and Diagnostics Subcommittee, of which he is an existing member. Vanilla Singh, MD, was not able to accept the invitation to serve as Co-Chair because of additional duties she has been asked to perform in the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health. Dr. Singh remains a federal member of the Tick-Borne Disease Working Group.
  • Holly Ahern, MS, Associate Professor of Microbiology at SUNY Adirondack, has accepted a position on the Testing and Diagnostics Subcommittee.
  • David Walker, MD, who was selected for the Vaccine and Therapeutics subcommittee, withdrew his name for personal reasons. The subcommittee will proceed with the existing members